Did You Know About The Orange Cap & Purple Cap?

The Indian Premier Competition (IPL) debuted in 2008. Based on a round-robin group and knockout structure, the competition has teams from major Indian cities.

The IPL, formed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has become the most valuable and famous platform for cricket matches. Matches usually start in the early evening so that at least some matches may be performed under spotlights at nighttime to enhance the number of viewers for international broadcasts. The league used to be contested between all teams, but the teams expanded to ten clubs in 2011. As a result, the structure was revised such that matchups between groups would be restricted to a single match.

Four teams who come out on top, compete in three play-off matches, with one losing team allowing a second opportunity to accelerate to the final to maximize possible audience. Finally, the four teams who ended at the top of the tables compete in a series of knockout games to give the one team that lost its first-round match, a fair opportunity to proceed to the championship match.

What is an orange cap in the IPL?

The trophy is given to the IPL season’s highest run-scorer. The batter who scored the most runs in the competition throughout the season would carry the Orange Cap on the pitch. In the event of a tie, the batter with the higher strike rate receives the Orange Cap. Even if an opposing batsman has overtaken his runs, the Orange Cap owner, who is fielding, is permitted to wear the Orange Cap until the completion of the innings.

The batsman who scored the most runs in the tournament over the season would wear the Orange Cap while fielding, with the overall top run-scorer at the end of the match receiving the actual Orange Cap award on the day of the season’s final. The Orange Cap is awarded to the Indian Premier League’s highest run-scorer (IPL). It premiered on April 25, 2008, a week after the commencement of the IPL’s inaugural season.

These two players are the latest winners of the orange cap:

2020 KL Rahul (KXIP)
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)

What is a purple cap in the IPL?

The Purple Cap in IPL 2022 will be awarded to the player who takes the most wickets. The BCCI adopted the Purple Cap in the inaugural season in 2008. The IPL Purple Cap 2022 will feature a title sponsor for the first time in 15 seasons.

The Purple Cap is a unique prize awarded in the IPL to the bowler who takes the most wickets. After each franchise has played one game, the Purple Cap race begins. The Purple Cap holder changes during the season and the player with the highest wickets in IPL 2022 after the final wins the coveted award.

These two players are the latest winners of the purple cap:

2020 Ishan Kishan (MI)


2021 KL Rahul (PBKS)

Sports enthusiasts can use cap holders while making their fantasy cricket team. Fantasy cricket is an online sports gaming app where users form a virtual team of actual cricketers who compete in real-world matches. A player who has become a cap holder is considered exceptionally good and has great value for fantasy cricket players.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button